Excerpt six – Gone, Not Forgotten

dried rose petals

rose potpourri

ROSES OF MOTHERHOOD
by Rose Klix

VI. Gone, Not Forgotten
– potpourri and ashes

Rain lasting throughout the quiet spring.
Fondly remembered good time smiles,
small events, warm and cuddly sunshine.
Your ashes are part of the good earth.
Gone away, but your essence stayed.
Your seeds and their seeds display unique hues.
So much like you, though they deny it.
Bless you for watching over us still.

Excerpted from Pastiche of Poetry, Volume II, copyright 2012.
Poet’s comment: “This last stanza from my poem Roses of Motherhood brings to mind the many generations of mothers who passed before me. Earlier I disliked being compared to Mom. Relatives told her the same about Grandma. Now I remember them both as part of me when I look in the mirror. This Mother’s Day holiday I commemorate their ashes in the circle of life progression. I made potpourri from my roses’ petals; their scent lingers as strong as pleasant memories.” Rose Klix
http://www.RoseKlix.com/books

2 thoughts on “Excerpt six – Gone, Not Forgotten

  1. I truly love the analogy. I wrote a short story about Mom coming to visit. She really didn’t. I just looked in the mirror and there she was. Thanks for these precious memories.

    Like

    • Thank you for being a loyal fan and reading all six excerpts. I just wanted to break them up and illustrate with my roses. This is the way I envisioned the poem when I first wrote it. I like the sound of your story. Is it in a collection? Best wishes and much success to you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

